a lewin film information filmography contact texts de

Peter Stein's Schaubühne

Lontano – is an appreciation of the multifaceted artistic work of West Germany's first autonomous theatre group which, between 1970 and 1985, under the direction of Peter Stein, made theatre history.

The film traces the formation of the Schaubühne as a theatre experiment in the spirit of '68, describes how grassroots democracy was practised within the group and addresses the premises, the errors and the mentality which swiftly elevated the Schaubühne to the position of the most important German theatre in the second half of the 20th Century. What mad self-governed theatre work possible?

This documentary intends to cut a swathe through the thicket formed by theatrical myths and euphemisms to afford a clear view of the theatre's historical development and its achievements which today have been forgotten and have not spawned a tradition or artistic legacy.

Peter Stein reviews recordings of selected productions including Torquato Tasso, The Mother, Peer Gynt, Summerfolk, Shakespeare’s Memory, Big and Small and Aeschylus's Oresteia. Historic venues are revisited in the company of former ensemble members, reconstructing aspects of the theatre work of the time. Lontano does not attempt a chronological history or definitive interpretation of the Schaubühne's work. Instead, it provides a fragmentary, almost archaeological approximation of performance moments, spaces, costumes, designs, texts, plays, bodies, and not least an overdue reminiscence of an ensemble achieving worldwide fame under Stein's guidance. Which are the memories that remain? What is lost? An intense retrospective view – „A reflective film“ (Peter Stein).

Lontano, translated from the Italian, means distant, from afar, far away, or aside. In music, lontano denotes performing off-stage, creating sounds which can be clearly distinguished from those produced on the stage itself.

DVD Case and Booklet

01 02 03 04 05 06


Montage: Mirja Gerle

Peter Stein's Schaubühne

A film by Andreas Lewin
with Peter Stein and Moidele Bickel, Volker Butzmann, Bruno Ganz, Corinna Kirchhoff, Michael König, Willem Menne, Elke Petri, Susanne Raschig, Werner Rehm, Libgart Schwarz, Peter Simonischek

90 min
Director of Photography Wojciech Szepel
Sound Arved von zur Mühlen
Editor Catrin Vogt (BFS)
Still Photography Ruth Walz, Abisag Tüllmann, Helga Kneidl
Music Brian Ledwidge Flynn
Camera Hire Camelot Broadcast Services GmbH, Berlin
Online Editing and Postproduction Howard Harrington, media total, Berlin
Compositing Gerhard Jensen-Nelson, Waveline, Berlin
Colour Correction Jedrzey Sablinski, DI Factory, Warschau
HD Transfer Cine Postproduktion, Berlin
Press and PR Anja Zenk
Film Insurance Caninenberg & Schouten GmbH
Legal advice Rechtsanwalt Horst Hummel, Berlin; Rechtsanwalt Christian Füllgraf, Hamburg
Produced by Andreas Lewin

Special thanks to Regine Herrmann for her contribution.

This film would not have been possible without the support of Deutsche Bank.

Special thanks to
Jutta Lampe, Hans Lampe, Isa März-Toppel, Hans Helmut Prinzler, Judit Ruster, Roswitha Schieb, Jürgen Schitthelm, Markus Stein, Christina Voigt, Ruth Walz, Regina Ziegler and
Dr. Tessen von Heydebreck

Thank you
Archiv der Akademie der Künste, Dr. Wolfgang Trautwein. Deutsches Theatermuseum. Goethe-Institut Rom, Carmen Hof, Kaspar Howald. HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Lido Kultur- & Veranstaltungs-GmbH. Olympiastadion Berlin. rbb Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, Rolf Bergmann, Peter Kolano, Claudia Nothelle, Maria Ossowski. Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz.

Supported by

Order now!

a lewin film information filmografie kontakt texte en

Lontano
Die Schaubühne von Peter Stein

Lontano – ist eine Annäherung an die vielfältigen Facetten der künstlerischen Arbeit des ersten selbstbestimmten Theaterensembles der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, das zwischen 1970 und 1985 unter der Leitung von Peter Stein Theatergeschichte geschrieben hat.

Der Film zeichnet die Neuformierung der Schaubühne als Theaterexperiment und aus dem Geist von 68 nach, beschreibt, wie Basisdemokratie im Theater praktiziert wurde und widmet sich den Prämissen, den Irrtümern und der Mentalität, die das Theater innerhalb kürzester Zeit zu dem bedeutendsten deutschen Theater in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts gemacht haben. Was ermöglichte eine selbstbestimmte Theaterarbeit?

Der Dokumentarfilm versucht, eine Schneise durch das Dickicht der theatralischen Legendenbildungen und Verdrängungen zu schlagen und den Blick frei zu machen für die Entwicklungsgeschichte eines Theaters, dessen Errungenschaften heute in Vergessenheit geraten sind und aus dem heraus sich keine künstlerische Nachfolge oder Tradition gebildet hat.

Peter Stein schaut sich ausgewählte Inszenierungen, darunter Torquato Tasso, Die Mutter, Peer Gynt, Sommergäste, Shakespeare’s Memory, Groß und Klein, Die Orestie des Aischylos, noch einmal an. Gemeinsam mit ehemaligen Ensemblemitgliedern werden die Orte aufgesucht und Facetten der damaligen Theaterarbeit rekonstruiert. Lontano versucht keine chronologische Geschichte oder umfassende Deutung des Werks der Schaubühne zu zeigen. Der Film ist eine fragmentarische, fast archäologische Annäherung an schauspielerische Momente, Räume, Kostüme, Bühnenbilder, Texte, Stücke und Körper und nicht zuletzt eine notwendige Reminiszenz an ein Ensemble, das unter Steins Leitung zu Weltruhm gelangte. Was bleibt im Gedächtnis? Was ging verloren? Ein intensiver und nachdenklicher Blick zurück –
„Ein besinnlicher Film“ (Peter Stein).

Lontano, aus dem Italienischen ins Deutsche übertragen, heißt fern, entfernt, weit weg, auch abseits. Im Musikalischen verweist lontano auf das Spiel abseits/entfernt der Bühne, auf einen Klang, der sich von dem auf der Bühne Erzeugten klar abhebt.


Presse und Texte

Begrüßungsreden zur Premiere
07. September 2013, Akademie der Künste, Berlin

Thomas Oberender
Intendant der Berliner Festspiele
Download PDF

Hans Helmut Prinzler
Filmhistoriker, Mitglied der Akademie der Künste
Download PDF


DVD Case und Booklet

01 02 03 04 05 06

Trailer

Montage: Mirja Gerle


Filmcredits
Lontano
Die Schaubühne von Peter Stein

Ein Film von Andreas Lewin
Mit Peter Stein und Moidele Bickel, Volker Butzmann, Bruno Ganz, Corinna Kirchhoff, Michael König, Willem Menne, Elke Petri, Susanne Raschig, Werner Rehm, Libgart Schwarz, Peter Simonischek

2013
90 min
Kamera Wojciech Szepel
Ton Arved von zur Mühlen
Montage Catrin Vogt (BFS)
Fotografien Ruth Walz, Abisag Tüllmann, Helga Kneidl
Musik Brian Ledwidge Flynn
Kameraverleih Camelot Broadcast Services GmbH, Berlin
Online Schnitt und Postproduktion Howard Harrington, media total, Berlin
Mischung Gerhard Jensen-Nelson, Waveline, Berlin
Farbkorrektur Jedrzey Sablinski, DI Factory, Warschau
HD Transfer Cine Postproduktion, Berlin
Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit Anja Zenk
Filmversicherung Caninenberg & Schouten GmbH
Rechtsberatung Rechtsanwalt Horst Hummel, Berlin; Rechtsanwalt Christian Füllgraf, Hamburg
Produzent Andreas Lewin

Wir danken insbesondere Regine Herrmann für ihren Einsatz.

Dieser Film wäre nicht möglich gewesen ohne die Unterstützung der Deutschen Bank.


Besonderer Dank an
Jutta Lampe, Hans Lampe, Isa März-Toppel, Hans Helmut Prinzler, Judit Ruster, Roswitha Schieb, Jürgen Schitthelm, Markus Stein, Christina Voigt, Ruth Walz, Regina Ziegler und
Dr. Tessen von Heydebreck


Dank an
Archiv der Akademie der Künste, Dr. Wolfgang Trautwein. Deutsches Theatermuseum. Goethe-Institut Rom, Carmen Hof, Kaspar Howald. HAU Hebbel am Ufer. Lido Kultur- & Veranstaltungs-GmbH. Olympiastadion Berlin. rbb Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg, Rolf Bergmann, Peter Kolano, Claudia Nothelle, Maria Ossowski. Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz.


Mit freundlicher Unterstützung




DVD
&
Booklet zum Film
Hier bestellen!